RSS

Spotlight On…Stacy Hoff’s Desire in the Everglades!

16 Nov

Today I’m featuring fellow Soul Mate Publishing author Stacy Hoff’s novel, Desire in the Everglades.

DesireintheEverglades1800

Q: How long have you been writing?

A: Ever since I could hold a pencil. I got serious about writing professionally about seven years ago. I figured out pretty quickly I needed help, assuming all the rejection letters I received were any indication. I kept hearing the same comments from agents and editors—I had good story concepts and strong characters, but my writing needed some work. So I joined the Connecticut Chapter of Romance Writers of America (CTRWA) to learn what I needed to do—how to correctly pace my story, stay in POV, develop my character arc, and create believable dialogue. I still learn from my group, and go to classes once a month.

Q: Tell us about your road to publication.

A: CTRWA was hosting a large conference last year (Fiction Fest 2013) with agents and editors ready and willing to hear our pitches. I was lucky enough to pitch to Deborah Gilbert, Founder and Senior Editor of Soul Mate Publishing, Inc. Debby was great, telling me to breathe deep and take my time as I pitched, which really calmed me down. It’s amazing I was so nervous; I’m an attorney, so you’d think I would have been more confident. But writing is personal to me, so getting out the words was tough. Way harder than representing someone else.

Q: What advice would you give an aspiring author?
A:
Easy. Join a writing group. Now. It’s not hard to find one, just Google an RWA chapter near you.

Q: Tell us about your latest release.

A: I watch so many survival and reality TV shows, I’m not real surprised I got inspired to write a book about one. It’s only the framework for the story, but it made it really fun to write.

Q: Any new books in the works?

A: I just signed a contract for another book with Soul Mate Publishing, Inc. DIARY OF A YOUNG LAWYER will be out soon. I’m looking forward to its release!

DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES – Blurb

Stephanie Lang’s successful career as a television producer can’t give her everything she wants out of life. Her personal goals of writing a romance novel, and finding true love, languish. Emotionally scarred by her fiancé’s affair with her cousin, she doesn’t have the confidence to go after either goal again.
At least she has professional confidence to fall back on; she is ready to produce the company’s next hit show. But when her boss reveals what the show is about, a survival documentary starring a sexy, modern version of Crocodile Dundee, Stephanie’s life is turned upside down.
Colin Brandt, billed as “The Evergladiator,” will tackle Florida’s Everglades with just his bare hands and a knife. Stephanie, instantly attracted to handsome, rugged, enigmatic Colin, worries he will not survive his twelve-day odyssey. If he does, he’ll win a million dollars. If he fails, his beloved family’s farm will go into foreclosure. Can Colin conquer the Everglades? And can he conquer her heart?

DESIRE IN THE EVERGLADES

Chapter 1
“Did I hear you right?” Stephanie Lang sputtered. “You’re saying our next reality TV series is about a modern day ‘Crocodile Dundee’ guy. Only sexier.” Could her job get any more insane? Thankfully, the big fancy desk the Teleworld Broadcasting Company bestowed concealed her shaky hands and white knuckles.
Her boss nodded with enthusiasm.
She cleared her throat, enlarging the gateway for her stuck, strangled words. “I’m having a hard time believing this, Mark. You want croc guy to tackle the Everglades. Alone. For twelve days. No camping or hunting equipment allowed and only a knife to protect himself. That’s what you’re seriously proposing?”
“That’s right. Though we’ll let him use more than a knife.” Mark stopped nodding and let loose a large grin. “He can always use his bare hands.”
Stephanie wanted to use her bare hands, too. Wrapping them tightly around Mark’s neck. Was this guy kidding, or what? Stifling a sigh, she garnered her patience and tried to look at the bright side. Mark was less stuffy than the other executives, which was good. Not afraid to crack a joke. Also good. Not concerned about anybody but himself. Bad. Very bad. And he steamrolled people to get his way. Much, much worse.
She hoped he didn’t steamroll her now, because this idea was plain old crazy. Seriously whack-a-doodle. “Is this show going to be safe to shoot?” she asked tenuously. If she showed too much emotion, she would join the thousands of New Yorkers standing on the unemployment line waving pink slips. Teleworld did not welcome emotional reactions to their business directives.
“Of course it’ll be safe to shoot,” he answered breezily. “We’re not even having our crew film it. Once they set up the cameras, we’re outta there. Of course, while they’re setting them up, there will be some risk. We’ll make sure they’re protected as best as can be reasonably expected.”
Cringing, she tried to ignore the word “reasonably.” Worst. Qualifier. Ever. Before this meeting was over, her whole body would be twitching. “I meant whether this was going to be safe for the guy we’re filming. He’ll be the one left out there, unprotected.”
“Dunno. Luckily, that’s not our problem. The guy’s willing to take the gamble, so I guess it’ll be safe enough. He’d know best how to calculate his player handicap.”
“This isn’t a round of leisurely golf. I don’t want this guy to wind up handicapped at all.”

Author’s Bio

Stacy Hoff is a writer, as well as an attorney. She has practiced law for two decades, primarily handling contracts. Romance novels have always been her secret passion. She writes her romantic stories until the wee hours of the night. She lives in New England with her husband and two boys.

Buy link: http://tinyurl.com/m332faj

Social media:
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff
Twitter: twitter.com/authorStacyHoff
Web: http://www.stacyhoff.com

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2014 in Spotlight On

 

6 responses to “Spotlight On…Stacy Hoff’s Desire in the Everglades!

  1. Cathy H

    November 17, 2014 at 1:56 AM

    Stacy, did you find you needed an agent once you found Soul Mate? Looking forward to the next book by the way. But how can lawyers top a reality show?

     
    • stacyhoff

      November 17, 2014 at 10:25 PM

      Hi Cathy H!

      I personally did not use an agent & enjoy working with Soul Mate directly.

      I’m so glad you’re interested in my next book! The title of my next novel is has actually been changed to LAWFULLY YOURS. It will be released March, 2015.

      BTW, the lawyers I know can top a reality show both in fiction AND in real life! 😉

       
  2. Sophia Kimble

    November 17, 2014 at 3:37 PM

    Reblogged this on Sophia Kimble.

     
    • stacyhoff

      November 17, 2014 at 11:39 PM

      Ho wonderful, Sophia! Thank you!

       
      • stacyhoff

        November 17, 2014 at 11:40 PM

        Geez, that’s supposed to be “So” wonderful. Maybe I’m getting into the Christmas spirit early. Ho Ho Ho! 🙂

         
      • Sophia Kimble

        November 18, 2014 at 9:16 AM

        You are so welcome!!!

         

Leave a Reply

 
