RSS

Spotlight On…JR Richardson’s Cursed Be The Wicked!

05 Oct

Today I’m interviewing fellow Soul Mate Publishing author JR Richardson about her novel, Cursed Be The Wicked.

Cursed be the Wicked final

Q: How long have you been writing?
A:
I’ve been writing all kinds of craziness since I was in middle school, but finishing stories all the way to THE END, for about six years now.

Q: Tell us about your road to publication.
A:
I wrote Cursed be the Wicked in a year. I started, then stalled about 1/2 way through the story, then started again and finished it up in two months. I queried like crazy, never expecting in a million years to get picked up. Not because I didn’t believe in the story, but because I knew how many authors were out there trying to get their story published too. So it was double the triumph when I was offered a contract with Soul Mate Publishing about a month and a half into my journey. Ten months later, a lot of editing and learning new things along the way later, the eBook was out! I’ve been on cloud nine ever since.

Q: What advice would you give an aspiring author?
A:
Don’t ever think you have nothing else to learn. Always be open to new ideas and keep your circle of trust close at all times. They are there for you.

Q: Tell us about your latest release.
A:
Cursed be the Wicked is a Paranormal Romance with mystery entwined throughout and a little bit of humor sprinkled on top. It’s about the struggles of a young man trying to find out what happened to his father a lot of years ago, and how involved his mother was in those happenings. In the process, he finds someone he learns he can trust with both his secrets and his heart.

Blurb:

Cooper Shaw lives his life under a pen name and enjoys the anonymity it provides during his journeys across the globe as a seasoned writer for a travel magazine. When his job lands him in his hometown of Salem, Massachusetts to cover the famous Festival of the Dead, he soon realizes that he can’t stay invisible forever as he faces ghosts from a past he’s been trying to forget ever since he left.

The city holds nothing but bad memories for Coop until he meets a quirky young woman with an old soul and curious insights by the name of Finnley Pierce. While she acts as his tour guide through a town he thought he knew, Finn helps him unearth the truth of his childhood and might even begin to open up his heart.

By unraveling the mystery of his father’s murder, Coop may finally accept who he is, where he came from, and perhaps even realize what he wants for his future.

Excerpt:

“It’s you.”
The woman from the front desk of the B&B. The fake Betsy. She’s right there, plain as day and still disheveled.
A smile crosses my lips involuntarily.
“Yeah,” she announces, with her very own brand of contempt, apparently not recognizing me at all.
I’m not sure whether I’m glad about that or not.
“It’s me,” she continues, “And if you don’t mind, I’m trying to listen to the lecture.”
“No,” I say, still grinning over at her like a complete idiot and still finding the need for her to recognize me. “It’s me.” I shift and put my things down to turn for her to see me full on. “From last night? At the Bed and Breakfast?”
Her facial expression doesn’t change one iota. “Yeah, I know who you are.”
“I was looking for you this morning.”
Her eyebrow lifts, her arms cross, and I’m feeling the urge to grin even wider.
Until she answers me.
“Why, so you could scream at me some more?”
“No,” I tell her. “Actually, I was hoping to apologize for last night, but . . .” I hesitate. I’m not exactly saying it like I’d planned to but in my defense, she kinda has this way of getting me all tongue tied.
“Hoping to?” she asks. “You were hoping to apologize?” She feigns flattery. “I am just so, thankful that you were hoping to apologize. Oh my, really, I just . . .”
She shakes her head as she trails off, and, ouch.
I hold my hand up in surrender. “Okay, okay, I get it. I apologize,” I tell her, quietly and leave it at that. I turn my focus back to the task at hand, but find myself mumbling an explanation.
“I don’t even know what got into me, I’m just,” I breathe out and let it out, “having a bad week.”
“Bad week,” she mocks me under her breath. Then she slouches back into her chair. I’m thinking this conversation is over until I hear her ranting in angry undertones, “Did you know the number of public apologies that famous people make have tripled since nineteen-eighty? I don’t even wanna think about the number of private ones that aren’t being counted.”
I peek over at her, reluctant to say anything but curious as to where she’s going with this.
She catches me staring, and then whisper yells at me.
“Do you know how many of those apologies are probably genuine, Mr. Stone?”
It’s a good question. I hadn’t really thought about it. Before I can answer, she does it for me.
“Probably about one percent. And that’s being generous, in my opinion.”
“Look, lady, I just—”
People from the audience let out dramatic shushes and give us dirty looks before returning their attentions back to the speaker. A few minutes later, my row companion finishes her thought.
“Apologies are a dime a dozen. I don’t need an apology. What I need is sincerity.”
She settles down after that and I’m not sure if I’m supposed to apologize again or just shut up.
I go with shutting up.

BIO PIC BW

A movie fanatic, a writer of stories, a lover of life.

Jo grew up in Maryland with four siblings, three parents and an endless number of cousins within the vicinity – but it was too cold up North for this thin blooded girl. So today, she lives in Florida with her two girls and a husband that shares her same sense of humor and basic take on life as we know it.

Life is too short to put dreams on the back burner.

She’s always loved writing and always will. Jo tells contemporary stories with romance, humor, the supernatural, the paranormal, suspense, mystery, action and anything else she can think up.
In 2012, she wrote Cursed be the Wicked, a character driven, paranormal mystery romance that was picked up by Soul Mate Publishing and released in March of 2014. It hit #40 in its category on amazon.com on day one. Since publishing Cursed, Jo has also written a couple of short stories and is currently editing a romantic comedy that she hopes to get out to the public soon.

Contact links

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/JRRichardsonAuthor

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/JoFictionFreak

GOODREADS: http://www.goodreads.com/JRRichardson

CURSED BE THE WICKED is FREE today! GET IT NOW!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 5, 2014 in Spotlight On

 

Leave a Reply

 
