RSS

Spotlight On…Erin Bevan’s The Ranch Hand

20 Sep

Today I’m interviewing fellow Soul Mate Publishing author Erin Bevan on her novel, The Ranch Hand.

perf5.000x8.000.indd

Q: How long have you been writing?
A:
I have been writing for three years now. I didn’t start out writing when I was a kid like most writers do. In fact, I didn’t even know I liked to write until I was in my mid twenties.

Q: Tell us about your road to publication.
A:
My road to publication. Well, that’s a story. I’ll try to make it brief. I lived in South Korea with my husband and daughter. We moved there from Arkansas for his career. My life completely changed once we got there and I found myself without the simple luxuries we all take for granted in the US. I didn’t have a car, a job, a cellphone (who would I call anyway?) or friends. I didn’t speak the Korean language, and so I found myself spending most days alone in our small apartment. My daughter attended a Korean day school and I was for lack of better terms, lonely. I relied on books as my friends. Thank God for the Kindle! After reading what felt like thousands of books in a brief span (more like a hundred or two), I decided that I could write, so I did. My first few attempts sucked. I mean really sucked! But I kept at it, and eventually I got published.

Q: What advice would you give an aspiring author?
A:
My advice to an aspiring author is just do it. You will have people hurt your feelings by either not believing in you or telling you your work sucks. That’s to be expected. Develop a thick skin and believe in yourself. If it’s your dream, then the only person standing in your way is you.

Q: Tell us about your latest release.
A:
My latest release is titled The Ranch Hand. I actually wrote it to answer a submission call for an erotic western anthology. Needless to say it got rejected. It wasn’t erotic enough, I don’t believe. I decided, why waste a good story, so I rewrote it the way I wanted the story to go (which is not erotic) and viola, The Ranch Hand was born. The Ranch Hand is about a rough and tough cowboy who get’s the responsibility of babysitting a cowgirl. Along the way, he realizes her stubborn demeanor is just enough stubborn to keep him on his toes and more than enough to make him fall in love.

Excerpt:

Jason arrived at Billings International Airport
twenty minutes early. He checked the monitors—Mike
and Bobby’s flight was scheduled to land on time.
Good. He sure as hell didn’t want to have to wait on
them.

He grabbed a seat by the bag terminal, tipped his
hat low on his head, and decided to catch a little shuteye
before he had to deal with their guests. He woke to
someone nudging his shoulder.

Jason tipped his hat back on his head to see a
blonde beauty standing in front of him. His heart
hammered against his chest. His throat tightened as he
gave her a quick once over.

Long golden strands covered her shoulders, and her
eyes were blue like a clear Montana sky. Her smile
penetrated his chest like the stilettos on her heels, and
the curve of her hips made his pants constrict.

“Yes, ma’am, can I help you?” he drawled.

“Are you Jason Haverty?” the beauty asked in a
Southern twang.

“Yes, I am.”

“Oh, thank goodness.” She turned. “Mike, over
here. I found him,” she hollered as she waved her arm in
the air.

The fire engine red handbag she held was some
high-pricedhigh-priced designer brand, Couch or Nada, something
like that, and her luggage had the letters LV all over it.
Maybe those were her initials.

He stood just as a young guy wearing a navy blue
T-shirt and skin-tight jeans made his way over to them.
This kid was long and lean, had celery stalks for legs,
and a zit on the tip of his nose. Hell, she was probably
the kid’s girlfriend, which meant she was young, too.

Too young for him.

A damn shame.

About the Author

File0290

Erin Bevan was born and raised in Southwest Arkansas. She spent her teenage years working for her aunt at the local gas station flipping burgers and making milkshakes dreaming of the day when something better would come her way.

Fast forward ten years later, she found herself stuck inside an apartment in South Korea while her daughter went to preschool and her husband went to work. Alone and unable to speak the local language she turned to books for a friend. After reading a few hundred in such a short time, she decided to try her hand at writing one.

That first one sucked, but by the fifth and sixth book, Erin started to get the hang of this writing thing. Getting the first contract in the mail was a dream come true. Now, with three babies at home, she squeezes in stories one word at a time, one sentence at a time, one day at a time. She’s a full time mom, a full time wife, with a little writer sprinkled in whenever she can get the chance.

Contact Info:

You can reach Erin at
http://www.erinbevan.com
erinbevanwrites@gmail.com
Twitter: @ErinBevan
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/erinbevanwrites

The Ranch Hand will be available for purchase starting September 24, 2014!
Check it out!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2014 in Thursday Thread

 

8 responses to “Spotlight On…Erin Bevan’s The Ranch Hand

  1. erinbevan

    September 20, 2014 at 9:51 PM

    Hey Rachel! Thanks so much for hosting me!

     
  2. Janice Seagraves

    September 20, 2014 at 10:26 PM

    Hi Erin, I started writing in my twenties too.
    Good luck with your release. I wish you many sales.

    Janice~

     
    • erinbevan

      September 20, 2014 at 11:14 PM

      Thank, Janice. I owe you many thanks for helping me so much along the way. I still hear some of your critique comments in my head when I write.

       
  3. joneva2013

    September 20, 2014 at 10:45 PM

    Ah! Tough cowboys are SO tempting. Enjoyed the visit.

     
  4. erinbevan

    September 20, 2014 at 11:16 PM

    Thank you, Joneva! Jason’s a good cowboy, even if he is a little on the rough side.

     
  5. Joanne Guidoccio

    September 21, 2014 at 10:48 PM

    Great interview! Best of luck with sales 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
