RSS

A Place In Time

03 Jan

Vortex_interior

The concept of time travel has always fascinated me. I believe this stems from my love for the 1985 film, Back to the Future. Being the daughter of Baby Boomers born in the Reagan era, I believe I entered the world during a pretty fun decade and I only wish I had been able to enjoy that era more. I am not alone in my interest in the past. Many people have longed for the ability to go back in time and this is what makes that film such a beloved classic.

Interest in time travel need not be limited to our own lifetime. There are many periods in history that would be worth visiting. How exciting would it be to actually witness the birth of Christ? Or to be a part of Christopher Columbus’ journey to the New World? Or even to sit with Queen Elizabeth I herself during the very first performance of King Henry IV? The possibilities are endless.

1492-the-santa-maria-nina-and-pinta-find-the-new-world

Being an avid reader, in my opinion, is the closest thing we have to time travel. At least, for now. Books allow a reader to transcend both time and space. They allow a reader to experience a life outside their own and to be a part of something exciting, new, and maybe even magical. This is why I love to read and why I love even more to write. My debut novel, Cold Ambition, coming this spring from Soul Mate Publishing, is about a young woman beginning her new life as a private eye by tackling one of Boston’s most infamous, unsolved murders. I can’t wait for readers to join her on this suspenseful quest.

Although we may not have access to a time-traveling Delorean, we do have the ability to glimpse the past. The next time you find yourself wanting to spar with Spartacus or seek out the whimsical wisdom of Merlin, pick up a book. Between those pages, you will uncover a world beyond your own, filled with magic, mystery, and maybe a little romance. Beyond those pages, you will find your place in time.

book-300x188

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “A Place In Time

  1. maggie mundy

    January 3, 2014 at 3:04 AM

    I love time travel books but sometimes feel like they do my head in with the continuity. Best of luck with your book.

     
  2. Susan James Berger

    January 3, 2014 at 11:36 PM

    I love time travel too. My debut book Time and Forever which will be released this month is about two women in their sixties time travelling back to 1969.
    I adore back to The Future and Jack Finney’s Time and Again which became a movie with Christopher Reeve.
    If you have not discovered Lyn Kurland, her books are all time travel romances and I love them. Start with A Dance Through Time. http://www.amazon.com/Dance-Through-Time-Passages-Romance/dp/0425179060
    There is also Robert Heinlein’s A Door Into Summer.

     

Leave a Reply

 
